Dashboards & Visualizations

Remove Create New Dashboard Button

mikev
Path Finder

Help Please. Splunk 6.6.3 - SHC - search app -> dashboards.

In this environment the production Splunk needs to be read-only.
One of the items that we came across is that users can still create dashboards and embed searches in them to get around the no modification rule.

Now following this in answers

https://answers.splunk.com/answers/345407/hide-create-new-dashboard-button.html

I was able to allow only the admins to see and create dashboards, but the users couldn’t even see any dashboards not even those assigned to them.

Keep in mind I’m not a JS coder, but there were no errors, so it was good right :-). When modifying the code - Splunk\share\splunk\search_mrsparkle\exposed\js\build\dashboardspage.js it also caused errors with the manifest being out of sync.

When I inspect the dashboard page, I can see the code:

<div class="add-dashboard-controls pull-right">                     <button class="btn btn-primary add-dashboard">Create New Dashboard</button>                 </div>

I cannot seem to find which XML file contains this. So, the real question; is there a way to remove the create new dashboard button, if so, which xml file contains it, I have searched through them all, I think. I cannot find this code in any of the dashboard(x).xml files.

As we will be upgrading to 7.x in the near future (within 6 months) modifying mrsparkle also creates issues as now that code needs to be maintained across upgrades there has to be somewhere that we can modify the dashboard to exclude the button and place it in a local directory

Thanks in advance for any assistance / guidance.

Tags (1)
0 Karma

martin_mueller
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Even if you hide all buttons users that have the permission to search an index can run arbitrary searches on that index. Educate your users instead of attempting to lock them out.

0 Karma

martin_mueller
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust