Dashboards & Visualizations

Missing extra backslash in a "source" token to work properly in search query, any ideas?

mpham07
Path Finder

Hello all,

I am relatively new to Splunk and creating dashboard with XML, so any recommendations and tips are greatly appreciated.

So I have a dashboard with a drop-down menu with a list of sources - I did this because we a have a weekly CSV report so the user can pick a file based on its date within the file name. When the panel relying on the "source" token to do the search, it's missing a backslash to work properly. The source code and explanation below.

Drop-down menu:

<input type="dropdown" token="source_csv" searchWhenChanged="true">
      <label>Select a report week:</label>
      <prefix>source=</prefix>
      <default>*</default>
      <choice value="*">All</choice>
      <fieldForLabel>source</fieldForLabel>
      <fieldForValue>source</fieldForValue>
      <search>
        <query>
          index="example_reports" | chart count by source 
        </query>
      </search>
    </input>

So when a panel with the search below is done, nothing shows up because it's missing a backslash.

host="example_host" index="example_index" $source_csv$ | stats distinct_count(ip)

The search query comes out as:

host="example_host" index="example_index" source=D:\example\report-2018-12-25.csv | stats distinct_count(ip)

The issue is that the source value needs two backslashes for it to work:
source=D:\example\report-2018-12-25.csv

Is there anyway to get the token to have two backslashes to the directory with the token or search query? Thank you in advance.

I did search for solutions on this by adding |s$ and search string, but couldn't get it to work right...

0 Karma
1 Solution

mpham07
Path Finder

With the help of jazzypai and jkat54, the answer is below:

Thank you so much jazzypai! I got it to work with your rex line. Here is what I put in for the drop down search: