Dashboards & Visualizations

Creating an "About this dashboard" popup modal view when opening a dashboard

snorri
Path Finder

Hi all!

I am developing an app which contains a lot of dashboards and I want the users be prompted with information about each dashboard when opening it. I'm also planning on letting the user choose to check for "Do not show this message again", but first things first.

How can I create a simple popup like this: https://www.splunk.com/blog/2014/02/24/using-bootstrap-modal-with-splunk-simple-xml.html except that I want it to pop up when opening the dashboard without having to click an "info" button.

Unfortunately I have very little experience with javascript, but not afraid to use it.

Really hope somone will be able to help me out, I'm running out of keywords to google

1 Solution

niketn
Legend

@snorri, please try the following run anywhere example.

1) Get the Modal Window sample code from Splunk's Bootstrap Style Guide: http://<yourSplunkInstance>/en-US/static/docs/style/style-guide.html#modals. Modify Modal window Header, Body and Footer as per your needs (you can use lookup/kv store to set/control contents for these).
2) Use <init> section to set the tokShowModel to hide fade to hide the Modal Window by default on Dashboards load.
3) Create an inputlookup based independent search to look for app_<yourSplunkAppName>_page_<yourSplunkDashboardName>_user_<loggedInUserID>.csv (you should ideally implement KV Store for the following). For the first time the lookup file will not exist so the token tokShowModel will be set to show. This will show the Modal Window once the independent search is executed. When the lookup file is created (only after the user checks Do not show again checkbox), the token is set to hide fade.