Dashboards & Visualizations

After I created a dashboard as one user and shared permissions, why is another user getting "Error in "DataModelEvaluator:"Data model was not found"?

bidahor13
Path Finder

Hi,

I recently created a dashboard to display some server information. After setting up the search, it works fine under my profile, but won't work with another profile. I changed the permissions, but I'm still getting the same result. The error message below keeps popping up on the dashboard.

Error in "DataModelEvaluator:"Data model <my_server_name > was not found 

Need help ?

1 Solution

frobinson_splun
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hello @bidahor13,
I'm a technical writer here at Splunk. I'd like to help with your question. Where did you change the permissions? Was it for the dashboard and/or the data model? My first thought is that both objects might need permissions updates. Let me know and we can continue to troubleshoot.

Thanks,
@frobinson_splunk

View solution in original post

doksu
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

I had the same issue when creating a correlation search in ES that pivots against a datamodel in a custom TA. I had to manually add the TA's name to the list of imported apps in '$SPLUNK_HOME/etc/apps/SplunkEnterpriseSecuritySuite/metadata/local.meta' so that the datamodel is "visible" to ES and then the correlation search could successfully pivot against it. If @frobinson_splunk has any suggestions in this case it would be much appreciated.

0 Karma

frobinson_splun
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hello @bidahor13,
I'm a technical writer here at Splunk. I'd like to help with your question. Where did you change the permissions? Was it for the dashboard and/or the data model? My first thought is that both objects might need permissions updates. Let me know and we can continue to troubleshoot.

Thanks,
@frobinson_splunk

bidahor13
Path Finder

Dashboard.

0 Karma

frobinson_splun
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee