Splunk Dev

How to connect a search head to an all-in-one instance?

Asplunkee
Observer

Hello,

I have an all-in-one instance and i want to add a search head to be used by a team to only access specific data.

is that possible without making a kind of distributed deployment, or i should make the all-in-one instance as the deployment server and then add the search head?

excuse my question if it seems basic, a newbie here 😅

Thanks

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

The general idea is that you deploy a new Splunk Instance and add the old one as search peer.

But.

But 1. You have to manage apps separately on both instances (which means you could use another instance as deployment server and it's getting complicated ;-)).

But 2. If you're not in control of the second search head, it's not a way of restricting access. The access control in Splunk is preformed on search head level. So if search head has access to an indexer (and in your case the all-in-one would fulfill the role of indexer), it has full access to its data.

So it might be easier to stick with your all-in-one (or indeed add a search-head and leave old instance as indexer only) and properly configure roles and limit access based on roles.

0 Karma

Asplunkee
Observer

Thank you @PickleRick for your quick answer.

So in this case i will keep the all-in-one as indexer and use the new instance as search head (SHnew). 

now i have another small question: besides the all-in-one instance, i need to search data from another splunk deployment (2 indexers), and i already have a search head (SHold) in that other deployment (i know, you will say why not use the existing one! lets say i have to 😅). 

the question is, can I simply add the 2 indexers as search peers in the new search head (SHnew) or should i create a search head cluster using the SHold and SHnew (i also have a deployment server that manages the SHold)?

thanks for your help and your patience 🙏 

0 Karma

PickleRick