Archive

what does "app" sharing mean in Manager's apps page?

Contributor

In the "apps" page in Manager (http://localhost:8000/en-US/manager/search/apps/local), there's a Sharing column which always starts with "App |" and is followed by a permissions link.

Is there a way to change this sharing? What would it mean to have non-app sharing for an app? If it makes no sense, why is "App" listed there at all?

0 Karma
1 Solution

Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

"App" is the probably the wrong word here. It just means that the default for objects in this app is to appear either only in this app or to appear globally.

View solution in original post

Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

"App" is the probably the wrong word here. It just means that the default for objects in this app is to appear either only in this app or to appear globally.

View solution in original post

Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

here's what splunkweb says "Sharing for config file-only objects Set permissions for configurations that have been copied over or added to config files rather than created through the UI. Objects defined in config files only (not in the UI) should appear in"

Basically, the ui is telling you what the permission is without you needing to go into the permissions page to check it. If it says APP, it means that its only APP specific. If you change the permission and use ALL APPS, then you will see that the view changes to GLOBAL | Permissions...

Cheers,
.gz

0 Karma