All Apps and Add-ons

what are your Deployment App naming conventions?

awurster
Contributor

looking for some inspiration or guidelines about namespaces whilst deploying apps from Deployment Server.

1 Solution

willamwar
Path Finder

I have been selling splunk for about 6 years, and now I will be using Splunk for my new Job. I'm going to follow this convention.

Acme_DC_InfoSec_nix_HWFwd_inputs
Acme_NYC_IT_Win_IntFwd_outputs
Acme_SF_InfoSec_nix_EPFwd_deployclient
Acme_DC_Sales_MAC_HWFwd_limits

• This will ensure that if two companies with Splunk Merge your time will be made easier
  • In case you want to have different files per location (Think of a multi-site cluster with outputs.conf)
  • This gives you the ability to understand who has requested this app so you can ask them questions
  • This is often useful if there are setting that are needed for a given OS
  • This is for the type of machine. EndPointFwd, HeavyWeightFwd, IntermediateFwd
  • The name of the app or file that will be target. base is often used to imply inputs.conf, web.conf, server.conf, outputs.conf

View solution in original post

jpvlsmv
Path Finder

While similar to the accepted answer above, I find it easier to see what is/should be deployed where if there is a slightly different order to the parts of the app name.

We create apps based on functionality -- "Internal App for our main webapp cluster" will be the user-facing name of it (functionality to monitor the J2EE stacks that back our production website), but on the back end, I have 3 apps^W^W 6 apps defined:

1. int_webapp_prod_data
  2. int_webapp_prod_ui
  3. int_webapp_prod_agent
  4. int_webapp_test_data
  5. int_webapp_test_ui
  6. int_webapp_test_agent

(See the pattern, and how things would line up in the Deployment Server interface?)

The _data apps contain the index definitions and any index-time extractions (indexes.conf, fields.conf, etc.) This is deployed (via DS) to all of my indexers