Splunk Search

multiple field extraction with Regex

dwear
Explorer

I'm trying to use the Extract fields wizard to pull a field out of a log, but running into an issue. Here a portion of an example log.

username1 (WT_AD/RSA) [Webtop I,Webtop III] - 2017/03/14 15:09:57

What I'm interested in is the value in [ ] which is the user's "Role". The problem I have is, that value may be a single value (ie. [Webtop I] ), or possibly multiple values separated by commas. In this example, the user has been assigned 2 "Roles", "Webtop I" and "Webtop III". I was able to get everything inside the [ ] to appear as a single field (i.e. Role="Webtop I, Webtop III"), but I'd like to be able to extract them each as a value (ie. Role="Webtop I" AND Role="Webtop III". This way when I search for Role="Webtop I", I get results when a user was assigned multiple roles as well.

I'm not very good with Regular Expressions, but here is what is working with them as a single value.

^[^)\n]*)[(?P[^]]+)

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Tags (1)
0 Karma

adayton20
Contributor

I had to convert this comment into another answer (so I could insert pictures) to address your other questions. I am assuming you have admin rights to your Splunk.

1.) For the first part, if you are presented with a value of spaces between the brackets, you could simply add a | search yourfield!=" " at the end of your search, which filters out any value with a space in it.

2.) Yes, you can turn this into an extracted field without using props.conf and/or transforms.conf by doing it entirely in the GUI... and for the second part (making a multivalue field split) you can create a calculated field.

Go to Settings > Fields > Field Extractions > New

If you don't have a specific app you're working in, leave that as its default value.

Insert a name for your extraction, the sourcetype where the data resides, and insert the regex from the search excluding the double quotes, like this:

alt text

Save it.