Alerting

escalate an alert to a different email address after some time or a certain frequency of its occurrence

mmaqbool
Explorer

Hi,

I am new to splunk and working on imitating nagaios's alerting behavior.

Specifically, I have created an alert that emails user A when a certain event happens. I now want to stop sending the email to user A if:

1-For eg the event has occurred 5 times in a minuit.
2-For eg the event has occurred 5 times (regardless of the time it took for 5 occurrences).
3-For eg the event has occurred again within 5 minuits of the previous occurrence.

And now send the email to user C and D.

In simple words, escalating an alert to other teams based on some criteria.

Looking forward for some help in this regard.

Kind regards,
mmaqbool.

Tags (1)
0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

The general approach is to have 2 searches. The main search dumps out triggers into a lookup file using outputlookup append=t.
Another search runs every minute and examines the triggers in the file and applies the logic that you describe to decide whether and to whom to send an email.

0 Karma

vik_splunk
Communicator

Hi @mmaqbool

Out of the box, I don't think this is a supported feature to the best of my knowledge.

I do however think that the below approach can be used to achieve the same.

1)Do not hard code the e-mail address but try to leverage a field from the search results by tokenizing the e-mail address field. This can be achieved by constructing a hidden e-mail address field(any field name prefixed with an _ is automatically hidden in the output but can be used as tokens in the e-mail alert parameters.)

2)Use _internal data and specifically the scheduler logs to figure out which instance of alert this is. So ideally you will use an append and scheduler data to construct your e-mail address field.

As a small SPL example of how this would work,