Monitoring Splunk

Time Graph question regarding license usage as the day goes on

jeck11
Path Finder

I am new to my admin role and need to get a better handle on our usage as the day goes on. We're always close to our license cap so I need to have the operators visually see if we're trending to breach our daily license usage. Here is an example I quickly threw together in Paint (I know it sucks and is busy) to illustrate what I'm after.

Let's pretend it's currently 6pm on Thursday.
Here's my legend:
Red line at 300 GB would show our daily limit
Orange represents the usage the prior Thursday.
Blue is my usage today as the day goes on.
Yellow is my trendline roughly predicting if we're going to breach.

I have been trying to use the out of the box "License Usage Dashboard" but that is good at showing me what caused me to break my cap the prior day. I need to have something to let me know I need to stop from breaking it today.

my crapy example

Tags (1)
0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

I believe that this came from Christopher Boggs:

index=_internal source=*license_usage.log* type=Usage
| timechart span=1h sum(b) AS volume_b 
| predict algorithm=LLP period=24 volume_b as prediction future_timespan=24
| addinfo 
| where _time>=relative_time(info_max_time, "@d") AND _time<relative_time(info_max_time, "+d@d") 
| fields - info*
| eval merged = coalesce(volume_b, prediction) 
| stats sum(merged) as predicted_volume sum(volume_b) as volume_so_far 
| eval volume_so_far=round(volume_so_far/1024/1024/1024,2)
| eval predicted_volume=round(predicted_volume/1024/1024/1024,2) 
0 Karma

davidwholland

Hi.

I think this is a start of what you're looking for (FYI, It does require the datamodel provided by Meta Woot: https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/2949/ )

| pivot Meta_Woot_License_Usage License_Usage sum(gb) AS "LICGB" SPLITROW _time AS _time PERIOD 15m SORT 0 _time ROWSUMMARY 0 COLSUMMARY 0 SHOWOTHER 1
| accum LICGB as TOTALGB
| timechart span=15m avg(TOTALGB)