Splunk Search

Serching Development Log Files

sjjohns

So I am brand new to Splunk. I just finished setting up a Ubuntu server for indexing and have got all my forwarders working just fine. When it came to indexing a log file from a development test I get stuck on how to search for what I want. For example the log files look something like this:

Test1: Total: 3 Succeeded: 3 Failed: 0

Test2: Total: 5 Succeeded: 4 Failed: 1

Test3: Total: 3 Succeeded: 3 Failed: 0

I would like to be able to know how many time the whole deployment test succeeded. If it failed which test it failed on, and graph the results. I have had difficulties trying to get the numbers after Total, Succeeded, and Failed in to integers I have tried tonumber and I think it has worked. But after that I am not sure how to get it to reference the Test number it goes with

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

Damien_Dallimor
Ultra Champion

Here is a search time field extraction using the rex command.You could also declare this in props.conf using EXTRACT.

... | rex field=_raw "(?<test_id>\w+):\s\w+:\s(?<total_count>\d+)\s\w+:\s(?<success_count>\d+)\s\w+:\s(?<fail_count>\d+)"

Then, with the fields extracted, there are many different potential searches , here are a couple to get you started.

"how many time the whole deployment test succeeded"

... | stats sum(total_count) as "Total Tests"  sum(success_count) as "Succeeded"  sum(fail_count) as "Failed"

"If it failed which test it failed on"

...| where fail_count > 0 | stats sum(fail_count) as "Failed Tests" by test_id

View solution in original post

Damien_Dallimor
Ultra Champion

Here is a search time field extraction using the rex command.You could also declare this in props.conf using EXTRACT.

... | rex field=_raw "(?<test_id>\w+):\s\w+:\s(?<total_count>\d+)\s\w+:\s(?<success_count>\d+)\s\w+:\s(?<fail_count>\d+)"

Then, with the fields extracted, there are many different potential searches , here are a couple to get you started.