Reporting

Report on IOT inventory of devices vs events generated

mcuervo

Hi,

I am new to Splunk, but after reading all the documentation, I am still not able to find a solution for my scenario.

I have a relatively big farm of IOT devices, around 100.000. And I have two sources of data:

1. An inventory of all the devices. This inventory changes daily as new devices are deploy and others are decommissioned.
  2. A continuous flow of events coming from those IOT devices, with around 1.000.000 events per month

Each device has a unique identifier that can be found both in the inventory and in the events.

What I want to produce is a set of reports that respond to these questions:

• List of IOT devices in the inventory that has not produced any event in the last 30 days?
  • List of IOT devices that are producing events but they are not listed in the inventory?

The first question will help me to identify broken devices. The second will help me to identify problems with the inventory.

How can I implement this with Splunk?

Thanks in advance,

Miguel

Tags (2)
0 Karma

smoir_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Alternately, you can check out Splunk Industrial Asset Intelligence: https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/4218/ which has an asset hierarchy that should handle your inventory, and the events can be ingested as metrics data and associated with the assets accordingly.

0 Karma

DalJeanis
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

First, ingest the data.

Second, write reports that pull the information.

Your list of devices can be either a lookup table or an index.

If it's an index, then you will want to have a status flag so that you can identify which devices are decommissioned. Splunk does not have a capability to "update" a record, so the most recent record for each device has to tell you what you need to know.

There are more, and less efficient ways to code such a query, and they are data-dependent, so I'm just going to give you a workable one.