Getting Data In

Referencing global settings inside SimpleXML?

mlstomasevic

Hi,

I am looking for a way to access one of the global settings parameters directly from the simplexml and to be rendered on the dashboard. For example, globalConfig.json stores a couple of fields that I use to store application specific data, and would be great if I could render this data on the dashboard as well. I am familiar with the $env but I can't really find how to access anything that is stored in the global settings file. Is this even possible? Thanks.

0 Karma

kamlesh_vaghela
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@mlstomasevic

We can help if you share your app details. Like it is from splunk base or your custom app.

0 Karma

mlstomasevic

It is a custom app. Do you need more details?

0 Karma

kamlesh_vaghela
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Yes please.

0 Karma

mlstomasevic

I'm just getting started with Splunk, but basically I created a dummy app through Add-on builder, and was wondering if there's a way to access App's Configuration values inside the templates? For example, by default there is a Add-on Settings tab on the configuration page for the App, and I was wondering if there's a way to access those values inside the template? Basically I want to access global config value from the template.

0 Karma

kamlesh_vaghela
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@mlstomasevic
globalConfig.json is AOB generated files with a single control to different page/tab configurations. And I found only base.html file in the initial AOB generated TA. Do you want to access globalconfig.json in this template file? /SPLUNK_HOME/etc/apps/YOUR_APP/appserver/templates/base.html. If yes, then may I know the purpose of doing this? Bcoz, base.html is designed in such manner which will load other supporting javascript form appserver/static/js/build/ which is responsible for creating input tabs and configuration tab with all functionalities using globalConfig.json. Any changes in this file may cause UI issue.