Splunk Search

Percentage Difference between 2 indexes

willadams
Contributor

I have 2 searches from 2 different indexes. The first search is

index="softwareimport" Product_Name="*ActiveX*"  | stats count by Product_Name

The second search is

index="device_list" device_state="Active" | stats count by device_state

How do I then do a percentage of these 2 values so that I can show a percentage value (i.e. xx%)?

I am just starting to learn how to use eval and came across something called appendcols but not sure if this is right for the context I am working in.

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

mayurr98
Super Champion

Hey I think you want to show percentage something like this so in addition to above query you can write something like this

(index="softwareimport" Product_Name="*ActiveX*") OR (index="device_list" device_state="Active") 
| stats count(eval(index="softwareimport")) as Total_ProductName_Count count(eval(index="device_list")) as Total_DeviceState_Count 
| eval Percentage=round((Total_DeviceState_Count*100)/Total_ProductName_Count,2)."%"

Let me know if this helps!

View solution in original post

0 Karma

willadams
Contributor

I have experimented a bit with doing some joins to match my data between 2 indexes and then tried adapting my configuration using what I have learnt from the percentage question. So related but different. I have the following search

index="softwareimport" "Product Name"="Adobe Flash Player 28 ActiveX" OR "Product Name"="Adobe Flash Player 27 ActiveX"
| join "Device Name" [search index="devicelist" "Device State"=Active "Operating System"="Windows" AND "Operating System"!="server"]
| stats count(eval(index="softwareimport")) as count_softwareimport count(eval(index="devicelist")) as count_device
| eval "ActiveX Compliance" = round((count_softwareimport*100)/count_device,0)."%"
| table "ActiveX Compliance"

This generates a value of "0%"

What I am trying to do is get a percentage based on this configuration. If I run this search: