Dashboards & Visualizations

Multiple filter option in dashboard tables

rajim
Path Finder

I'm very new to Splunk world. Right now I'm facing the below problem regarding the dashboard table. It would be a great help if anyone could provide me a solution.

Problem: I have a simple dashboard table having more than 50 columns. I also have 4 input fields in the table which serve the function of filters for the table.
Q1: Now I want to add a facility in the dashboard that will provide this filter functionality for any field of the table. As there are more than 50 columns, so it's not possible to add separate input fields(drop down) for each column. So is there any functionality in Splunk that will provide me the list of column names in a drop down and another drop down will provide me the values for the corresponding filed, when I choose the field in the 1st drop down?

Q2: Can I add multiple filters dynamically like excel? For example, I want to view data based on the filters of 3 fields. So there would be 3 filters. If I want 4 then there will be facility to add another filter.... like that.

Actually I want a functionality similar to excel filter on columns. Please find attach the image of excel sort functionality of adding multiple level which show the list of fields present in the table and simultaneously provide the capability of adding multiple levels.alt text

Tags (1)

niketn
Legend

@rajim,
If your intent is to be able to form and edit data in the table (including sort/filter), you can possibly explore Splunk Table Dataset Add On which was introduced in Splunk 6.5.

Following is the link to Data Set Add On, its short video and Splunk Documentation:
https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/3245/
https://www.splunk.com/en_us/resources/video.0xZDllOTE6YOrjNqzirBCguPGhScXAmC.html
http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/latest/Knowledge/Tabledatasetsintro