I was running Splunk 5.0. Came in this morning, and saw that 5.0.1 was just released.
So I download the RPM, install the same way I did my 4->5 upgrade, and start up Splunk.
Login screen still shows:
Is there a way I can disable this? I don't need every user logging into Splunk to be notified that there's an update. Also, there isn't an update.. I just installed the latest one!
I had the same. Restarting Splunk didn't make any difference. A server reboot did however...nada new release messages. Just don't ask me why... 😉
Raised this to Support, it should be fixed now. Thanks for mentioning it!
You can also get rid of the error message by modifying your web.conf on your search head and doing:
updateCheckerBaseURL = 0
This would prevent future notifications. The issue that Ricapar and DaveSavage encountered was due to an incorrect setting in the banner system on splunk.com--those specific notifications should not have happened, and no longer will.