Deployment Architecture

I have question regarding configuration of splunk heavy forwrader setup

kaushal21rajput

Hi ,

I am new in splunk and trying to set up a test environment with free license of splunk enterprise.
Below are some of points about test env.
1. It has 1 universal forwarders and fording data to heavy forwarder.
2. I have setup a heavy forwarder by installing a splunk enterprise free version and configured forwarding and receiving on instance (on 9997).
3. I have installed a splunk instance and only configured receiving for a particular port (9997).

Now my questions are -
1. Is it possible to set up such test env by free license ?
2. Which server i should configured as deployment server (i.e heavy forwarder or main splunk instance) ?
3. I can see in metrics.log that tcpconnection is there from heavy forwarder and throughput logs are also updating for heavy forwrader IP but no any data in GUI of main splunk instance ?.
4. Do i need to configure heavy forwarder as deployment server for universal forwarder and configure splunk instance as depoyment server for heavy forwarder ?

Thanks in advance.

Tags (1)
0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi kaushal21rajput,
answering to your questions:

1. Is it possible to set up such test env by free license ?
    yes at https://www.splunk.com/en_us/products/features-comparison-chart.html you can see which features are disabled in free license;

2. Which server i should configured as deployment server (i.e heavy forwarder or main splunk instance) ?
    in a test environment you can use the one you like, remember that in a production environment and if you have more than 50 clients you have to use a dedicated server;

3. I can see in metrics.log that tcpconnection is there from heavy forwarder and throughput logs are also updating for heavy forwrader IP but no any data in GUI of main splunk instance ?