Dashboards & Visualizations

How to make the time columns displayed on Splunk match those in the raw data

mutiaratambunan

Hi, I'm a newbie here need some guide...

I have this kind of rawtext :
2018 Apr 6 15:15:03:735 GMT +0700 BW.NISP_JDBC_SIBS_Gateway-1-NISP_JDBC_SIBS_Gateway-18-6 User [BW-User] TraceFlagTrue Job-6000 [NISP_JDBC_SIBS_Gateway/ProcessDefinition.process/Group/LogAfter]: Error148

When the data is forwarded to the Splunk server and search by it index, it was displayed the Time colum on this kind of format :
4/6/18 10:15:03.735 PM.

I've already tried to change it by modifying the ...\SplunkUniversalForwarder\etc\apps\learned\local\props.conf but still the Time Column not affected. I Change it like this :
[BIsaGila-too_small]
TIME_PREFIX = ^
MAX_TIMESTAMP_LOOKAHEAD = 24
TIME_FORMAT=%Y %b %d %H:%M:%S:%3N
PREFIX_SOURCETYPE = True
SHOULD_LINEMERGE = False
LINE_BREAKER = ([\r\n]+)
TRUNCATE = 999999
NO_BINARY_CHECK = true
TZ = UTC
is_valid = True
maxDist = 9999

Please help me.

Thanks

Tags (4)
0 Karma

robgora_deloitt
Path Finder

So your time zones are off on your data? Then you need to set a props.conf on the indexer and specify the time zone based on the host or on the source type.

https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/7.0.3/Data/Applytimezoneoffsetstotimestamps

Following are some examples of how to specify time zones in props.conf.

In the first example, events come into the indexer from New York City (in the US/Eastern time zone) and Mountain View, California (US/Pacific). To correctly handle the timestamps for these two sets of events, the props.conf for the indexer needs the time zone to be specified as US/Eastern and US/Pacific, respectively.

The first example sets the time zone to US/Eastern for any events coming from hosts whose names match the regular expression nyc.*:

[host::nyc*]
TZ = US/Eastern
The second example sets the time zone to US/Pacific for any events coming from sources in the path /mnt/ca/...:

[source::/mnt/ca/...]