Splunk Search

How to fit a subsearch in the middle of a search query

chaninphx
Path Finder

Hi everyone. How do I format this subsearch to work in my search query? I'm still fairly new to splunk

| inputlookup sourcetypes_raw.csv | lookup sourcetype_lookup.csv sourcetype OUTPUT description | search "$drop_name$"="$text_name$*" [search "$drop_name$"="*$text_name$*" | where $drop_name$==description] | mvcombine sourcetype | sort index | table index sourcetype description
Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

somesoni2
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Try this. (updated per your last comment)

| inputlookup sourcetypes_raw.csv | lookup sourcetype_lookup.csv sourcetype OUTPUT description
 | where (("$drop_name$"="index" OR "$drop_name$"="sourcetype") AND like('$drop_name$',"$text_name$%") OR ("$drop_name$"="description" AND match(description,"$text_name$")
 | mvcombine sourcetype | sort index | table index sourcetype description

Essentially, if $drop_name$ is index/sourcetype, it checks full value else, does a match which checks if the values is 'contained' within description field in lookup.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

somesoni2
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Try this. (updated per your last comment)

| inputlookup sourcetypes_raw.csv | lookup sourcetype_lookup.csv sourcetype OUTPUT description
 | where (("$drop_name$"="index" OR "$drop_name$"="sourcetype") AND like('$drop_name$',"$text_name$%") OR ("$drop_name$"="description" AND match(description,"$text_name$")

Essentially, if $drop_name$ is index/sourcetype, it checks full value else, does a match which checks if the values is 'contained' within description field in lookup.

0 Karma

chaninphx
Path Finder

Ok that worked! Thank you!

0 Karma

somesoni2
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

cool. Don't forget to close the question by Accepting the answer.

0 Karma

somesoni2
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust