Splunk Search

How to create a field with more complicated values to be extracted?

gilbxrtx_7

I want to extract the text in square brackets to create it as a field. However like my previous problem I had the field extraction error.
alt text

I am new to regular expressions and am not sure on how it is done, would appreciate any help to help me with the regex for this. Thank you.

Sample of the texts to be used for extraction:
<37>1 2018-04-12T02:46:13Z ET0021B747DAEC auth 0 [event101@641 SessionId="34.uUnn74R4Z7DGp" Auth_Method="Username" Username="deleteUser" UniqueUserId="a995a58e-b44f-4ebc-a7f8-f208bb46a692" Fullname="deleteUser"] Updated group selections for user: 'deleteUser'

<37>1 2018-04-16T06:03:24Z ET0021B747DAEC settings 0 [event240@641 SessionId="6hbDLUPiY5KfoYaV" SettingName="" Setting_Old_Value="0" Setting_New_Value="1"] changed id 25464

<37>1 2018-04-16T06:23:25Z ET0021B747DAEC auth 0 [event243@641 SessionId="U3Ur2rt.7LbzBYHh"] Session has logged out due to timeout.

<37>1 2018-04-16T05:47:23Z ET0021B747DAEC jobmanager 0 [event233@641 JobId="9" Job_Type="DataStreamWorkflow"] Job Cancelled:

Regardless of the length of the text in square bracket, I would want them to be able to be added as a field.

Tags (1)
0 Karma

Shan
Builder

Hai ,

Use the below regex syntax.

you will exactly get the data in square bracket. I have tested with above sample data provided by you.

[[a-zA-Z0-9@="-._\s\]*

0 Karma

Shan
Builder

@gilbxrtx_7 - You have multiple correct answers. Kindly test it. Accept the answer and close the question..

0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Like this:

... | rex "\[(?<bracket_stuff>[^\]]+)"

gilbxrtx_7

thanks for your suggestion, but when I copied and pasted it into regex101.com it stated that the regex got error. I prefer a regex that is meant to be created and stay permanent since I am creating a field, not to search in the search bar
when I copied and paste into search bar I dont see any highlighted text either
@woodcock

0 Karma