Splunk Dev

How to count the number of each distinct Product in the subsearch Splunk example?

sama_hp
Engager

Hello,

I am new to Splunk and trying to figure out how subsearches work.
My problem is : How to count the number of each distinct Product in this Splunk query example:

:sourcetype=access_* status=200 action=purchase [search sourcetype=access_* status=200 action=purchase | top limit=1 clientip | table clientip] | stats count AS "Total Purchased", dc(productId) AS "Total Products", values(productId) AS "Products ID" by clientip | rename clientip AS "VIP Customer".

Thanks

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

Robbie1194
Communicator

You can try use the MAP command like this:

index=whatever sourcetype=whatever status=200 action=purchase
| top limit=1 clientip
| map search="search index=whatever sourcetype=whatever clientip=$clientip$ | stats count as totalPurchased by productId"

What this does is it will find out the top client IP and then pass that value to the map search and run that and get the info you want. This might not work as I've not tested the logic or anything yet but even if it doesn't, hopefully it points you in the right direction or something.

View solution in original post

Robbie1194
Communicator

You can try use the MAP command like this:

index=whatever sourcetype=whatever status=200 action=purchase
| top limit=1 clientip
| map search="search index=whatever sourcetype=whatever clientip=$clientip$ | stats count as totalPurchased by productId"

What this does is it will find out the top client IP and then pass that value to the map search and run that and get the info you want. This might not work as I've not tested the logic or anything yet but even if it doesn't, hopefully it points you in the right direction or something.

Robbie1194
Communicator

If you wanted to do this for the top 10 customers then you could just change the limit to 10 in the top command etc etc.

0 Karma

sama_hp
Engager

Thanks Robbie.