Splunk Search

How to chart over time based on small daily samples

NathanaClarke

Hi,

I'm relatively new to creating splunk reports and simple ones have been easy but now I need a shortcut/help to get this done while I am still learning 😉

I am trying to create a report based on one type of event (firewall denies), by policy (the firewall deny group). I have a lot of these types of events coming in from multiple firewalls. I'd like to schedule a report that averages just the previous day's events per firewall deny policy and adds that average to a rolling chart that shows the last 30 days. I'm cognisant of keeping the effort my splunk host has to expend to a minimum so I only want to eval the previous day's events and just add that to a chart that I can download or share.

Is that doable?

Tags (1)
0 Karma

DalJeanis
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

I agree with @niketnilay that in the long run you should probably be looking to create a summary index to keep your daily stats.

I am not certain, though, what you mean by "average" the prior day's events. Normally, you would be looking to sum them up and keep them individually, so you can review trends and details. Also, the word "sample" in the title worries me, because you probably want the entire day's data, not a sample.

Also, before you go to the trouble of making a summary index, you might consider starting with just a csv file.

To create it, you would run something like this, once...

earliest=-30d@d latest=@d ...Your search that selects the events you want...
| bin _time span=1d
| stats count as ViolationCount by FirewallName PolicyName _time
| outputcsv myViolationCounts.csv

... you can run it in chunks with append=t if it would take too long as a single run.