Splunk Search

How do I loop the results into another search and get the desired output?

brywilk_umich
Path Finder

Hello,

I am new to Splunk and trying to come up with a way that would grab the usernames in certain lines (21_ubl) of a log then loop back and search the logs with the multiple usernames with the Auth[IP Address] log lines and get a output that would have the username and the ip address gained from the second search. Im not sure where to begin. Ive included examples of the log lines and the desired output.

LOG LINES

Oct 24 10:07:43 servername message[29979.1382623627]: mscan: 21_ubl: username1 on 127.0.0.1

Oct 24 10:07:43 servername message[29979.1382623627]: mscan: 21_ubl: username2 on 127.0.0.1

Oct 23 14:02:18 servername message[10488.1382551334]: Auth [1.1.1.1] host.net: username1 authenticated via PLAIN+TLs

Oct 23 14:02:18 servername message[10488.1382551334]: Auth [2.2.2.2] host2.net: username1 authenticated via PLAIN+TLs

Oct 23 14:02:18 servername message[10488.1382551334]: Auth [3.3.3.3] host3.net: username2 authenticated via PLAIN+TLs

Desired results would be a report with

Username1 1.1.1.1

Username2 3.3.3.3

Update: I have 2 searches now trying to figure out how to create a subsearch
I need to combine them so that #1's output feeds into the %username% variable
Gives just usrname from UBL users
index=collaboration sourcetype="mail-2" | rex "(?i)1_ubl: (?P\w+)" | stats values(username)
2 list ips by usrname
index=collaboration sourcetype="mail-2" %username% | rex "(?i) Auth [(?P[^]]+)" | stats values(ipAddr)

Tags (2)
0 Karma

kristian_kolb
Ultra Champion

it seems like you have all the relevant information in the 'Auth' events;

...| rex "Auth\]\s(?<ipAddr>[^\]]+)\]\s\S+\s(?<userId>\w+)\s" | stats values(ipAddr) by userId

or if you want to do what you say, then this looks like the classical subsearch use case.

http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.0/Search/Aboutsubsearches

/k

kristian_kolb
Ultra Champion