Splunk Search

How can i format a table as rows into columns?

rarangarajanspl
Explorer

Hello - I am new to Splunk. I would like to check whether it's feasible to format a table. In the screen shot 1, i have a table with 10 columns and 3 records. I want to format it as Screen shot2. i.e. columns should be divided into couple of sets. Each row should be displayed next accordingly.

Basically, i want to compare just by looking at the values.

alt textalt text

Tags (1)
0 Karma

niketn
Legend

@rarangarajansplunk what is the logic of dividing 10 columns into 2 column sets? Is it based on divide by 2 logic or based on Column name?

Why each of 3 rows became 6 column in your output?

What is the logic of Row 1 column between Column Set 1 and Column Set 2?

Please provide more details and context for the community to assist you better.

rarangarajanspl
Explorer

Hi Niketnilay
Thanks for reverting back with questions.
We are supposed generate a table by reading/parsing application generated log file (INFO,DEBUG,WARN,ERROR). This log file has incoming request message (input XML) and outgoing response message (output XML). There is a direct mapping between input xml elements and output xml elements.

At this point, I am able to parse these xmls and generate table as per the screen shot 1. i.e. first five coumns (A1, A2, A3, A4 and A5) are input XML elements. Second five columns (B1, B2, B3, B4 and B5) are output XML elements.

Unfortunately, we are finding it difficult to compare the directly mapped elements between input and output. In the real time we have 50+ elements in each input and out xmls.

To compare the input and output elements in a better way, we came up with two different column set (as per Screen shot 2).

Response to your queries
1. Column sets are decided based on input and output xml elements. Based on xml element name it's divided.
2. Please refer #1