Splunk Search

How can I do sum of a time field?

tamduong16
Contributor

Hi I'm new to Splunk and currently trying to understand how the search function work. How could I get Splunk to display the sum of call duration in total from all of my events? Thanks!

alt text

Tags (1)
0 Karma

tamduong16
Contributor

I were able to figure out how to get the answer here:

....| convert num("Call Duration") | stats sum("Call Duration") as "TotalCD" | eval "TotalCD"=tostring($TotalCD$,"duration")

sjbriggs
Path Finder

This worked fine for me to get to seconds, then I just did /60/60 to get to hours which is what I wanted to sum up.

Tags (1)
0 Karma

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

This 

eval durations = tostring(durAsSec, "duration")

gives to you also days, hours and minutes. Just select those from that string.

0 Karma

DalJeanis
Legend

You'd better verify against a couple of events that you are getting the correct result. If the "Call Duration" field was already in duration, then that would work.

0 Karma

sbbadri
Motivator

your base search | eval tp = "Call Duration" | rename "Max Latency Rx" as lrx, "Call Rate" as cr | convert dur2sec(tp) as tp | stats sum(tp) as tp by lrx cr | eval tp= if(tp>86400,floor(tp/86400)." Days ".round((tp/86400)/3600,2)." Hours" ,strftime(tp,"%H:%M:%S")) | rename lrx as "Max Latency Rx", cr as "Call Rate" | table "Call Duration", "Max Latency Rx", "Call Rate" , tp

DalJeanis
Legend

Yeah, those renames help the code be less ugly a lot, don't they?

0 Karma

DalJeanis
Legend

Lots of ways, depending on what you want.

If you just want to know the sum of all those, and don't need the details, then...

| stats sum("Call Duration") as "Call Duration"

If you want to keep the details and just add a totals line at the bottom for only the Call Duration field...

| addtotals row=f col=t "Call Duration"