Dashboards & Visualizations

Help with implementing a GeoIP Lookup

MarkusT

Hello everybody,

first of all i have to say that i am totally new to splunk.
What i want to do is to implement a GeoIP lookup. Yet splunk receives syslog data from a Lancom 1781VA (over ISDN) Router. I don't even know if GeoIP works with the syslog data.
Can anyone explain me how to implement a GeoIP lookup within splunk?

I'm not a native speaker, so please excuse if there an mistakes.

Please feel free to ask me if there is information you need.

thanks in advance

Markus

Tags (3)
0 Karma

martin_mueller
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Assuming the IP has been blue'd out, an extraction and iplocation using rex might look like this:

base search | rex "peer (?<peer_ip>\d+\.\d+\.\d+\.\d+)" | iplocation peer_ip

That will add fields to your field list on the left, such as lat an lon for the estimates location.

Wenn du meinen Namen anklickst, ist da ein Contact Me button - darüber können wir auch Deutsch schnacken.

martin_mueller
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

For converting an ip to a location using the maxmind app you need to use the geoip command, something like this:

sourcetype=syslog | rex "Dst: (?<dst_ip>[^,:]+)" | geoip dst_ip

Enter that search into the maps view of the Google Maps app, you should see clusters on the map.

0 Karma

MarkusT

I tried it with this command:
sourcetype=syslog | rex field=_raw "(?\d+.\d+.\d+.\d+)" | lookup geoip clientip as ip

But the Map is still empty

0 Karma

MarkusT

No i got to the point that i have syslog messages that look like this one:
http://abload.de/image.php?img=sampledata20njmr.jpg

I installed MaxMind and GoogleMaps.

How can i Display the IP that comes after Dst: on the GoogleMaps map?
Somehow I have to use this rex command to name that value.

0 Karma

martin_mueller
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Sending the message worked fine, twice even 😛