Installation

Finding out which users have certain software installed

lewis_c26
Engager

I have been set a task at work to find out:
Which users have certain bits of software installed on their machine and have access to it, for licensing reason.
is there a simple search that can be done that creates a .csv file in the end that i can send t the manager.
Also needs to be able to be done with other bits of software.

Excuse the lack of knowledge i am new to Splunk and still leaning my way around.

Tags (2)
0 Karma

dglass0215
Path Finder

Take a look at the splunk add on for windows app (https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/WindowsAddOn/7.0.0/User/SourcetypesandCIMdatamodelinfo) if you are not already using it. This has a sourcetype - Script:InstalledApps which will index all the installed applications.

lewis_c26
Engager

@dglass0215 Is there a feature/search so that you can search for a specific application installed on all of the computers? Thank you

0 Karma

dglass0215
Path Finder

You can use the field named "DisplayName". Something like this:

sourcetype="Script:InstalledApps" DisplayName="\"McAfee*"\"

0 Karma

lewis_c26
Engager

I am doing this search:
index=windows sourcetype="Script:InstalledApps" DisplayName="Microsoft Visio Viewer 2013"
| fields host,DisplayName
| dedup host, DisplayName | eval
| fields host,DisplayName,UserName |stats values(DisplayName) AS Applications by host Last_Seen

And i get this error;
Error in 'eval' command: Arguments are missing. Usage: eval dest_key = expression.
The search job has failed due to an error. You may be able view the job in the Job Inspector.

Could you advise?

0 Karma

wmyersas
Builder

your eval isn't eval'ing anything

try

index=windows sourcetype="Script:InstalledApps" DisplayName="Microsoft Visio Viewer 2013"
| stats values(DisplayName) as Applications by host Last_Seen
0 Karma

lewis_c26
Engager

i tried that, i forgot to add the host=* so that it also displays the host name of the computer