Splunk Search

Copy and then parse a field

a212830
Champion

Hi,

I have a field that already exists, and I want to parse it out into a new field, using props/transforms. The field is surrounded in brackets, so it's in this format:

<COMPID> these are some values </COMPID>

The entired feed is bracket enclosed (but not xml). I've never done this before, and the regex is killing me as well. Can anyone help?

0 Karma
1 Solution

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi a212830,

see this answer https://answers.splunk.com/answers/319646/how-to-write-the-regex-to-extract-data-inside-squa.html
but you will use this settings in transforms.conf :

REGEX = \>([^\<]+)\<
FORMAT = MyNewFieldName::$1

This will create a new field called MyNewFieldName containing this value these are some values.

Hope this helps ...

cheers, MuS

View solution in original post

sloshburch
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hey @a212830, is this a duplicate post to your Help with props and transforms?

0 Karma

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi a212830,

see this answer https://answers.splunk.com/answers/319646/how-to-write-the-regex-to-extract-data-inside-squa.html
but you will use this settings in transforms.conf :

REGEX = \>([^\<]+)\<
FORMAT = MyNewFieldName::$1

This will create a new field called MyNewFieldName containing this value these are some values.

Hope this helps ...

cheers, MuS

a212830
Champion

Sorry, getting back to this... not sure this will work, as every field is bracket <> seperated. I need something that will extract the first string within the values. It contains multiple, white space seperated values.

<COMPID>string1 string2 string3 string4</COMPID>
0 Karma

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Sure this will work, I just did not understood it correct 😉

In this case try this regex:

REGEX = \>([^\s]+)\s

this will get string1 from your example as value of the MyNewFieldName.

cheers, MuS

0 Karma
Get Updates on the Splunk Community!