All Apps and Add-ons

Cisco Networks App/Add-on

splunknvi
Engager

I'm new to Splunk and was attempting to complete a quick deployment using network devices. I'm unable to get the Cisco Networks App to display any data. I'm not sure what I'm overlooking.

Software Versions:
Cisco Networks Add-on: 2.5.4
Cisco Networks (App): 2.5.4
Splunk: Free version 7.1

Procedure:
1) Splunk is operational.
2) Cisco App/Addon > Browse more apps > install both app and addon
EDIT: Restart of Splunk is completed.
3) Configure Data Input: UDP 514 > Source Type cisco:ios > App Context: Cisco Networks (cisco_ios) > Index: Default or Custom created. > Submit.

Performing either of the below searches provides syslog traffic (tested with Real-Time for firewall syslogs and results are flowing).

Queries:
source="udp:514"

sourcetype="cisco:ios"

Update 2018-05-28:
@rich7177: The service requests a restart after installation of the apps. Restarts were conducted after the installation as well as after configuration of the data input.

@xpac: As mentioned, I'm using my firewall to send syslogs (UDP/514) . These transactions have already been confirmed successful when entering the above queries.

Tags (1)
0 Karma

ptang_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi splunknvi,

First: It would be good to know how is your Splunk architecture, especially how are you feeding the Syslog to Splunk.
Are you simply using a standalone instance that does both the Search Head and Indexer? From your post, I would assume it is.
(The reason behind that question is to figure where is your parsing phase (Heavy Forwarder or Indexer), thus the Technical Add-on (TA) will need to be installed on that specific instance as well.)

• Since you are able to search sourcetype="cisco:ios" or source="udp:514", verify if the fields are being extracted accordingly.

Installation matrix:

• Install TA on the Search Head and Heavy Forwarder or Indexers (depending on your data flow)
  • Install the App on the Search Head only