Splunk Search

Almost no search results after upgrading to 7.0.0

erikwie
Path Finder

Upgraded from 6.1 to 7.0 and now none of my old searches gives any results i.e dashboard searces.

As a Splunk rookie I have noe clue as where to start looking.

When searching for * I get a few results, but only from active directory. A search for EventCode gives no results.

Running splunk on a one-server setup, only collectiong windows event data.

Anyone have a clue where to start?

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

Richfez
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

First make sure you are logged in as a user in the admin role, then try

index=* 

Another item of note was that somewhere in the moderately early 6.x days (6.3? Not sure) there was a change to some things on the indexes that would make migration take a lot longer than expected.

Lastly, you did read all the release notes and follow the upgrade procedure carefully, right?

If the answers to all that are good, then you'll want to start by telling us what OS you are running under and giving us information on the architecture of your systems.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

Richfez
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

First make sure you are logged in as a user in the admin role, then try

index=* 

Another item of note was that somewhere in the moderately early 6.x days (6.3? Not sure) there was a change to some things on the indexes that would make migration take a lot longer than expected.

Lastly, you did read all the release notes and follow the upgrade procedure carefully, right?

If the answers to all that are good, then you'll want to start by telling us what OS you are running under and giving us information on the architecture of your systems.

0 Karma

erikwie
Path Finder

Thanks for the reply,
My user account is in admin gruop.

Adding index=* to the searches I'm testing with did give me results i was expecting.