Career Resources
Post your Splunk jobs. Get career tips!

Splunk as a career- looking for feedback on reentering the technology field by learning Splunk and getting certified?

iger

Hi all,

I'm looking for feedback on reentering the technology field by learning Splunk and getting certified. I have already completed Splunk Fundamentals, Part 1 and enjoyed the platform so far.

I have two main questions and have written further background information below
1. Is having Splunk certifications enough to gain an entry level job in splunk administration. Bearing in mind I have no other in depth technical skills. e.g. scripting, linux etc. If not then what other skills would be necessary as well.
2. What is the best way to get real world experience using Splunk if its not possible in your current role.

I have a IT degree from over ten years ago and have the spent the last 15 years on the business side of IT. So I have an understanding of how technology, especially cyber security works at a high level - but can't program or use linux or networking.

I spent a few years, at the beginning of my career as an AD engineer and also used SPSS for data analysis and enjoyed it and am motivated to train to get back on the technical side.

Which certificates should I aim for first to gain employment? I have a British passport and am willing to travel anywhere in the world for the right job.

Thanks in advance for your feedback and I hope I don't get ripped apart for what might seem like a crazy idea.

Labels (1)
Tags (2)
0 Karma

hhabibi105
Observer

I have read all replies about the Splunk certification pathway suggested by fellow community members for Mr.Iger.

I am also new, like Mr Iger, but I have an IT background. Currently, I am doing a cyber security boot camp program with Monash University. I look forward to doing a Splunk certification to help me in my cyber security career. Therefore, please suggest me a Splunk certification for a cyber security engineer role.

0 Karma