All Apps and Add-ons

combining savedsearch and postProcess does not work

aragavan
Explorer

I am new to splunk and i am trying the following
get a value from PullDown list
do a savedSearch
do postProcess by using the value selected from the drop down. the value is one of the eventtype
But i always get the output of the savedSearch and post processing seems to be not happening.
For postProcess search, i tried
| eventtype=$envtype$
search eventtype=$envtype$
eventtype=$envtype$
Can anyone throw some light here ?

TrunkFarm
Trunk

TestFarm
Integration

envtype
Environment:

<module name="HiddenSavedSearch" layoutPanel="panel_row1_col1" autoRun="True">
      <param name="savedSearch">TransactionLogCountandDurationforTestServicesGen</param>
      <module name="PostProcess" layoutPanel="panel_row1_col1" autoRun="True">
     <param name="search">search eventtype=$envtype$</param>
   <module name="SimpleResultsHeader">
     <param name="entityName">results</param>
     <param name="headerFormat">$time$ - Updates every 5 minutes</param>
   </module>
  </module>

asimagu
Builder

try the Hidden Search module and put in there the code for your saved search

<module name="HiddenSearch" layoutPanel="panel_row1_col1" autoRun="True">
      <param name="search">THE_CODE_FOR_YOUR_PRETTY_SEARCH_GOES_HERE</param>
      <module name="PostProcess" layoutPanel="panel_row1_col1" autoRun="True">
     <param name="search">search eventtype=$envtype$</param>
   <module name="SimpleResultsHeader">
     <param name="entityName">results</param>
     <param name="headerFormat">$time$ - Updates every 5 minutes</param>
   </module>
0 Karma

sideview
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

HiddenSavedSearch and PostProcess work together perfectly well. However there are a number of common pitfalls around the use of postProcess searches in general.

0 Karma

asimagu
Builder

I believe HiddenSavedSearch and postprocess cannot work together

0 Karma

aragavan
Explorer