All Apps and Add-ons

Why am I not able to access the Splunk web server?

chandana204
Communicator

Hi, I am new to Splunk Enterprise admin level stuff. I have installed splunk enterprise successfully but not able to access web server. I followed below steps.
1. Created AWS EC2 RHEL single Instance.
2. Installed Putty on my windows to integrate EC2 instance.
3. Installed Splunk Enterprise successfully. I can see below message after started splunk service
alt text
4. Then I tried to open the web interface link in my windows chrome as mentioned in the above image. But I am seeing error message as "This site can't be reached, the web server IP address could not be found"
5. I checked web.conf file, web port: 8000, startwebserver=1 and I checked whether the port (8000) is open or not using nmap query. I can see ports are open for web server link (local host) and web interface link (my EC2 instance link). One more thing is when I check splunk status I don't see splunk webserver PID.
alt text

I am not sure where am I making a mistake. Please help me out with this issue.

Thanks in advance,
Chandana

0 Karma
1 Solution

PowerPacked
Builder

Hi @chandana204

if everything is good with the ports opened,

you should try with ipv4 name in instance description of ec2 instances and 8000 port.

Thanks

View solution in original post

ghantk1
Explorer

To allow traffic on port 8000, you must configure the associated security group and network access control list (network ACL).

Here is the link on aws docs for a website to be hosted and I used the same steps to make it work in initial days:
https://aws.amazon.com/premiumsupport/knowledge-center/connect-http-https-ec2/

0 Karma

PowerPacked
Builder

Hi @chandana204

if everything is good with the ports opened,

you should try with ipv4 name in instance description of ec2 instances and 8000 port.

Thanks

chandana204
Communicator

I didn't get you. Can you please explain a little bit more.

Thanks,
Chandana

0 Karma

PowerPacked