All Apps and Add-ons

Where do I install the various components for the app?

Dworsnop
Path Finder

Hello all, newbie end-user here. ;o)

I am new to using Splunk in a distributed deployment and I'm struggling to work out where to install the components of the Sophos Central App. (I have my API key details in the config.ini file ready to go.)

I have a Heavy Forwarder, Indexer, Licence Master and Deployment server (together) and a Search head.

On what servers do I install/run the siem.py script and where on a Linux box would I extract the files from the Github .zip to?

Then where do I install the Sophos Central app for Splunk? I assume on the Search Head but I believe it needs to be deployed there via the Deployment server.

Any help or signposting would be very helpful.

Thanks in advance

0 Karma
1 Solution

nickhills
Ultra Champion

Hi There, I am the original creator of this app.

I have just posed this notice as Sophos have released their own supported version of this App.

I am unable to easily support the old application as I no longer have access to a Sophos Central Subscription.
Thanks for your support, but your most reliable future path is probably with the new Sophos app as they will be able to better support you today and in the future.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.
Happy Splunking

Nick

If my comment helps, please give it a thumbs up!

View solution in original post

0 Karma

Dworsnop
Path Finder

Closing this question now. Got the app working without the Github scripts.

Looking to switch to the Sophos App soon instead though.

0 Karma

nickhills
Ultra Champion

Hi There, I am the original creator of this app.

I have just posed this notice as Sophos have released their own supported version of this App.

I am unable to easily support the old application as I no longer have access to a Sophos Central Subscription.