All Apps and Add-ons

What should I put in Powershell add-on Inputs.conf ?

gph12
Explorer

I'm relatively new to Splunk and some advice on deploying apps. I need to deploy the Windows Infrastructure App to get DNS logs into Splunk. That apps requires the Powershell add-on on the server and deploy it to the Universal Forwarder on the domain controllers.

I've installed the Powershell app on the Splunk server. Before deploying to the Universal Forwarder, I need to configure the inputs.conf file. There's nothing I actually want from this. I'm only installing it so I can proceed with Windows Infrastructure App. I presume I need to log something but I don't know that for a fact. What do you recommend I put in this file?

Also, the installation instructions for the Powershell add-on were not as specific as the Windows add-on. Do I need to create a new index for the Powershell app?

Thanks

0 Karma
1 Solution

jbjerke_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi gph12

You don't actually need the Powershell add-on to get DNS logs into Splunk. There is a requirement to have the Powershell add-on installed if you want to get Active Directory topology information from a Windows Server 2012 R2 . Even if this is the use case, the Windows Infrastructure app would work without this information.

There is documentation on how to configure the DNS Add-on for the Window Infrastructure app here:
http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/MSApp/latest/MSInfra/DownloadandconfiguretheSplunkAdd-onsforWin...

It involves placing the pre-configured add-on package on the forwarder. You can either use the default inputs or modify them to your needs.

Let me know how you get along.

j

View solution in original post

jbjerke_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi gph12