All Apps and Add-ons

Stuck on deploying a custom app

Babelfish
Explorer

Hi Splunk Community!

I am completely new to Splunk and its configuration, so please excuse any lack of knowledge.

I am trying to connect up a new custom app to our Splunk Cloud instance, however it is not showing up in the GUI. The end goal is to have data coming in from a universal forwarder on a Windows server to a Centos heavy forwarder, which then passes up the data to Splunk Cloud. A previous employee has successfully configured other custom apps, so I'm trying to follow the config.

On the heavy forwarder, I have /opt/splunk/etc/apps/<custom app>/ directory with appserver, default, local, logs and metadata folders, copied from a sample app on the system. In both default and local folders, I have inputs.conf...
######################
[splunktcp://8089]connection_host = ip
######################

...since the Windows universal forwarder is configured to send to this heavy forwarder on port 8089.

I then edited /opt/splunk/etc/system/local/serverclass.conf to add this line...
######################
[serverClass:All Servers:app:<custom app>]
restartSplunkWeb = 1
restartSplunkd = 1
stateOnClient = enabled
######################

...and issued "splunk reload deploy-server".

However, I am not seeing the app turn up on Splunk Cloud. I would really appreciate any push in the right direction as to what I have not configured correctly.

Thank you!

Labels (2)
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @Babelfish,

as I said, these are the steps to send logs to Splunk Cloud:

• configure HF to receive logs on port 9997 from Forwarders,
  • configure HF to forward logs to Splunk Cloud on port 9997, to do this, there's an app on Splun kCloud that describes the step to do;
  • copy in HF (in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/deployment-apps) the TA to deploy to UF using Serverclass,
  • configure ServerClass on HF to deploy the TA to UF.