All Apps and Add-ons

Splunk for CA Siteminder: How to extract fields Current, Max, Limit, and Exceeded limit to create a custom search to retrieve load information

tiago_comasseto
Explorer

Hello everyone!

I'm new at using Splunk. My team installed it recently along with Splunk for CA SiteMinder (https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/842/ ). It works fine with the default searches, but we're having a hard time writing a custom search to retrieve load information.

We want to extract the information of the fields Current, Max, Limit, and Exceeded limit to create a time line chart, this information is displayed as follow in the logs:

===================================================================================
[11627/3721370512][Sun Aug 09 2015 21:00:02][CServer.cpp:4403][INFO] System Statistics
[11627/3721370512][Sun Aug 09 2015 21:00:02][CServer.cpp:4409][INFO] Available file descriptors: 63488
[11627/3721370512][Sun Aug 09 2015 21:00:02][CServer.cpp:4420][INFO] Thread pool limit: 20
[11627/3721370512][Sun Aug 09 2015 21:00:02][CServer.cpp:4440][INFO] Thread pool: Msgs=116042596 Waits=109838215 Misses=9595616 Max HP Msg= 424 Max NP Msg=  388 Current Depth=     0 Max Depth=    812 Current High Depth=       0 Current Norm Depth=        0 Current Threads=        20 Max Threads=         20
[11627/3721370512][Sun Aug 09 2015 21:00:02][CServer.cpp:4448][INFO] Connections: Current=289 Max=1349 Limit=10000 Exceeded limit=   0
[11627/3721370512][Sun Aug 09 2015 21:00:02][CServer.cpp:4451][INFO] ===================================================================================

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers

1 Solution

Richfez
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

If you do not have those fields, you can create them with something like the following appended to your search:

... | rex "Current=(?<current>\d+)\s+Max=(?<max>\d+)\s+Limit=(?<limit>\d+)\s+Exceeded limit=(?<exceeded_limit>\d+)