All Apps and Add-ons

Splunk Add-on for NGINX: How can we forward the server data to the add-on installed on the Splunk server?

g4s
Engager

Hi,

I'm a newbie - I was facing issues while forwarding custom nginx data to the Splunk Add-on for NGINX installed on my Splunk server.

-- I went on reading a lot of things, Some points which i think can be a viable solution, But I wanted to be sure before doing anything or Better if anyone can suggest me a simple solution.

Points -

** Install the add-on on the box to be monitored by using 'Heavy Forwarder' / Search Heads or by installing a separate Splunk web version ??

Confusion -

• How to sync the data between the add-on on the box with the add-on on the Splunk server?
  • What should be the " [monitor:///] "
1 Solution

jonmargulies
Path Finder

You're going to do this in two parts:

1) Getting the logs in: In Splunk_TA_nginx/local, you're going to create an inputs.conf file. Here are instructions for the contents of that file: http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/AddOns/released/NGINX/Configureinputsv2monitor. Copy the monitor stanzas from that link exactly, but replace with the actual path to the nginx logs (if you want a different index than main, these stanzas would be the place to set that as well). For example, if your nginx access logs are in /var/log/nginx/access.log, that monitor stanza should begin [monitor:///var/log/nginx/access.log] (note the number of slashes; getting that number right is important). In order to get Splunk to collect nginx logs, you need to deploy the TA (especially that local/inputs.conf you just created!) to forwarders on every host that generates nginx logs.

2) Parsing the logs: The rest of the TA is all about telling the search head how to parse nginx logs and break them into fields. For that to work, all you have to do is install the TA on your search head(s).

View solution in original post

jonmargulies
Path Finder

You're going to do this in two parts: