All Apps and Add-ons

Splunk Add-on for Microsoft Cloud Services: How do I get Message Tracking Logs from Exchange Online into Splunk?

user12345a_2
Explorer

Hello.

At the moment my organization uses MS Exchange on-premise. We index our Message Tracking Logs for our Information Security team who use that information in searches / panels for message recipient lists, etc. We are moving our on-premise Exchange to Office 365. Will the Splunk-Add on for MS Cloud Services enable me to give them similar information to what they used to get from the Message Track. Logs?

Thanks in advance for any advice / pointers.

1 Solution

user12345a_2
Explorer

So I've been running the following Powershell script for the past several months without issues. It downloads up to 5 million messages and runs in about 40 seconds. I run it via task scheduler every 10 minutes. It's proven very useful to our Incident Response to have the message trace logs in Splunk.

<SESSION CONNECTION STUFF>
[DateTime]$DateEnd = Get-Date -format g
$DateEnd = $DateEnd.ToUniversalTime()
[DateTime]$DateStart = $DateEnd.Addminutes(-10)
$Outfile = "c:\O365\logs\MessageTrace_" + (get-date -Format "MM-dd-yyy-hh-mm-ss") + ".csv"

$FoundCount = 0

For($i = 1; $i -le 1000; $i++)  # Maximum allowed pages is 1000
{
    $Messages = Get-MessageTrace -StartDate $DateStart -EndDate $DateEnd -PageSize 5000 -Page $i

If($Messages.count -gt 0)
    {
        $Status = $Messages[-1].Received.ToString("MM/dd/yyyy HH:mm") + " - " + $Messages[0].Received.ToString("MM/dd/yyyy HH:mm") + "  [" + ("{0:N0}" -f ($i*5000)) + " Searched | " + $FoundCount + " Found]"

Write-Progress -activity "Checking Messages (Up to 5 Million)..." -status $Status

$Entries = $Messages | Select Received, SenderAddress, RecipientAddress, Subject, Status, FromIP, Size, MessageId
        $Entries | Export-Csv $Outfile -NoTypeInformation -Append

$FoundCount += $Entries.Count
    }
    Else
    {
        Break
    }
}