All Apps and Add-ons

Splunk Add-on Builder: How to edit my Python code to pull the value of event for an alert?

larryleeroberts
Path Finder

I am new to Python and to the Splunk Add-On Builder but I have been figuring it out so far but now I am at the point that I am stuck. I have been trying to build a new alert option for our Splunk instance. I am able to execute a binary and pass my parameters to it when called but I have been unable to figure out the correct code to use in order to grab the event that triggered the alert.

If you look at the Python code below, look specifically at this...

value2="-m "+"'"+"SPLUNK EVENT VALUE SHOULD BE HERE"+"'"

I am attempting to figure out how to pull the value of the event which set off the alert and assign it to value2. Below is my full code. Any aid would be highly appreciated. Thank you!

# encoding = utf-8

import os
import sys
import time
import datetime
import subprocess

def process_event(helper, *args, **kwargs):
    """
    # IMPORTANT
    # Do not remove the anchor macro:start and macro:end lines.
    # These lines are used to generate sample code. If they are
    # removed, the sample code will not be updated when configurations
    # are updated.

[sample_code_macro:start]

# The following example gets the alert action parameters and prints them to the log
    gfs_impact = helper.get_param("gfs_impact")
    helper.log_info("gfs_impact={}".format(gfs_impact))

gfs_urgency = helper.get_param("gfs_urgency")
    helper.log_info("gfs_urgency={}".format(gfs_urgency))

easyvista_category_id = helper.get_param("easyvista_category_id")
    helper.log_info("easyvista_category_id={}".format(easyvista_category_id))

# The following example adds two sample events ("hello", "world")
    # and writes them to Splunk
    # NOTE: Call helper.writeevents() only once after all events
    # have been added
    helper.addevent("hello", sourcetype="sample_sourcetype")
    helper.addevent("world", sourcetype="sample_sourcetype")