All Apps and Add-ons

Shapester App randomly loses existing lookups and fails to load them through UI

thervig
Engager

I am a currently a student worker and I am just starting to learn how to use Splunk and Linux. My Splunk environment is on a local server as I only use it for dev stuff for now.

After using the Shapester App to draw some custom polygons for a .kmz of my university campus, I would randomly get an internal 500 server error if I were to go the "Manage Lookups" tab. Then, I go back to the shape editor and I find that the UI would no longer have my existing lookup to load (geo_campus_buildings). Sometimes I would also lose the ability to use the UI to load an existing lookup after just powering off my Linux box and coming back the next day. However, I am able to locate the .kmz files I made through Shapester in my terminal so I do not think the files got deleted. I then checked my Splunk's Internal Errors and found no errors with the Shapester app itself. I also checked whether it would load the lookups with different browsers and both Firefox and Chrome had the same issue. Is there something I am missing? Is it the App? Hopefully I gave an ample amount of information and any help to just point me in the right direction would be wonderful.

Thanks

0 Karma
1 Solution

mporath_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi thervig,

Based on your description, it looks like there's an error with defining the lookup. You could check $SPLUNK_HOME/var/log/splunk/python.log and see if you see anything.

One known issue is that feature ID names aren't escaped. That means the lookup might fail if you use either > or < in your names.

View solution in original post

mporath_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi thervig,

Based on your description, it looks like there's an error with defining the lookup. You could check $SPLUNK_HOME/var/log/splunk/python.log and see if you see anything.