All Apps and Add-ons

Parallel development in Splunk on the same app - use GIT for management and source control??

yong_ly
Path Finder

Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone has had any experience using GIT as a tool to manage Splunk development work across multiple branches?

e.g. if I have two DEV environments and one master environment..

1. Clone DEV1/DEV2 from master.
  2. Develop searches/reports/eventtypes on DEV1
  3. Develop searches/report/eventttypes on DEV2
  4. Merge DEV1 and DEV2 onto Master.

Anyone done this successfully? any issues encountered? Just wondering how GIT would handle multiple changes to the same configuration file.. it seems to be that we would always get conflicts that would have to be manually resolved? but I am no expert in GIT so would appreciate any help.

Alternatively if someone else has experience with merging parallel streams of work in Splunk together that would be good too.

Cheers,

Tags (2)

bmacias84
Champion

You will need to use git hooks. I use Stash by Atlassian where I have implemented pull requests to merge to master, reject commits directly to maste. If there is a merge conflict on a pull request users must resolve those conflict before pull request can be approved. I recommend user pull from master before creating a pull request.

Check out my pervious post:
https://answers.splunk.com/answers/312571/best-way-to-use-git-for-source-version-control-wit.html

halr9000
Motivator

I'll answer this with an example for changes to a single file. Let's use server.conf just to show that this could be any file at all, not specific to searches. Here's our sample file:

server.conf:

[general]
sessionTimeout=1h

Dev1 clones the repo and wants to change the timeout to 8h. So he creates a branch so that the changes can be tracked separately from master. Edit is made and now our file reads:

[general]
sessionTimeout=8h