All Apps and Add-ons

Need help with lookup problem with ms windows ad project

hichem_khalfi
Path Finder

I'm new with splunk, I installed app ms windows ad object but in order to fix the shared points:
First: Add an automatic lookup for source XMLWinEventLog:Security using the AD_Audit_Change_EventCodes lookup.
In the MS Windows AD Objects app, navigate to Settings - - > Lookups - - > Automatic Lookups.
Click New Automatic Lookup
Enter the following:
Name: ms_ad_obj_wrkaround_msad_action
Source: XmlWinEventLog:Security
Lookup Input Fields:
EventCode = EventCode
obj_type = obj_type
Lookup output Fields:
change_action = change_action
Click Save
Set the permissions to the app and role permissions

I did what is asked but I still get the message:
Could not load lookup=LOOKUP-ms_ad_obj_wrkaround_msad_action

with a failure for some functionalities of the application

Tags (1)
0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @hichem_khalfi,

I don't love automatic lookups because sometimes they don't work and anyway it's more difficoult to debug code when there's a problem.

Anyway, before to create an automatic lookup, you have to create a lookup and test it; automatic lookup is only a rule but it doesn't create the lookup.

Did you cretead the lookup and the lookup definition?

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

hichem_khalfi
Path Finder

no, i did what the app owners asked

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @hichem_khalfi,

Ok check if the lookup and the lookup definition of ms_ad_obj_wrkaround_msad_action are defined or not.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

hichem_khalfi
Path Finder

@gcusello 

i c'ant fin ms_ad_obj_wrkaround_msad_action on Lookup definitions 

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @hichem_khalfi,

as I said, the problem is that you want to create an automatic lookup without create lookup and lookup definition before.

Check the documentation.

Maybe you are only using a wrong name.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

hichem_khalfi
Path Finder