All Apps and Add-ons

If deploying a Splunk instance that will index 500Gb/Day, what would be the recommended architecture for this type of environment?

pkaranam

Hi,

Need your help/suggestion on deploying High Availability (HA) Splunk architecture on our private AWS cloud system.

We are planning to setup new Splunk instance with 500GB/Day indexing on private AWS system. So we need suggestions to deploy HA Splunk Architecture, please share the architecture details and with size planning and also need details like below.

Search Head – #No of SH CPU/Memory/Storage?
Indexer – #No of indexers and CPU/Memory/Storage?
Deployment Server – # No of DS and CPU/Memory/Storage?
Heavy Forwarders – #No of HF and CPU/Memory/Storage?

And required clustering for SH and Indexers and some more info would be helpful. Since going through couple of documents but getting confused and its my first attempt for big setup from scratch. So please help me with above details.

Thanks!
Pavan

0 Karma

goodsellt
Contributor

We have the same license amount and currently run an AWS solution as well, so here are our specs as an example for you, please note that we use Splunk Enterprise Security so I've substituted M4 instances for C4 instances where they would be more appropriate without ES (I did it so it wouldn't moan about RAM).

Indexers:
4 x M4.4xlarge (100 GB GP2 Volume "/opt/splunk", 3 TB GP2 Volume "/data/splunk_hot", 8 TB ST1 Volume "/data/splunk_cold", 1 TB ST1 Volume "/data/splunk_frozen" ~ 9 months live retention based on our current loads).

Search heads:
1 x C4.4xlarge (100 GB GP2 Volume "/opt/splunk") - General Use
1 x M4.4xlarge (100 GB GP2 Volume "/opt/splunk") - Enterprise Security

Cluster Master Server:
1 x C4.xlarge (100 GB GP2 Volume "/opt/splunk")

Settings:
Multisite - true
2 indexers and 1 sh per site, sites are defined by AWS Availability Zones, Master sits on site1
All indexes are replicated, rep factor is origin:1, total:2 for rep and search factor.