All Apps and Add-ons

How to create a custom .conf file to store alert action default variables?

martinpu
Communicator

Hi,

I have a setup page for my custom app which I'm using to store secrets - username/password combination, I'm using javascript for that but I'm not experienced in JS.

I would also like to create or modify a custom .conf file which would contain some default variables for my alert_action like a couple urls for authentication and submitting events. I wouldn't want to hard-code these values and want to be able to update them with a webpage so all new settings would apply to all the custom alert actions as the default.

Are there guides on how to do this or perhaps someone has a working example with both secret creation/storage/updating and variable creation/updating in a custom .conf file?

Thanks in advance 🙂

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

martinpu
Communicator

I found a working example in this app:
https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/4104

So if someone else is looking for information about how to edit .conf files using javascript, in the advanced part there is an example under:
Editing .conf Files from Javascript

There are lots of other great examples there on how to work with javascript in Splunk 🙂

View solution in original post

0 Karma

martinpu
Communicator

I found a working example in this app:
https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/4104

So if someone else is looking for information about how to edit .conf files using javascript, in the advanced part there is an example under:
Editing .conf Files from Javascript

There are lots of other great examples there on how to work with javascript in Splunk 🙂

0 Karma

johnhuang
Motivator

This sounds like something you can do with Splunk Add-on Builder.

0 Karma
Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

Extending Observability Content to Splunk Cloud

Register to join us !   In this Extending Observability Content to Splunk Cloud Tech Talk, you'll see how to ...