All Apps and Add-ons

How to configure the Ansible Tower App for Splunk?

fofloinn

Hi,

I am new to Splunk and Tower and was wondering what configuration is needed for the Ansible Tower App for Splunk please?

Thanks in advance.

0 Karma
1 Solution

dsilva
Explorer

Hi @fofloinn,

Just add two data inputs. One for job_event and one for activity_stream. Similar to this

View solution in original post

donk23

@dsilva, do you know when we can expect an update to the app to use the HEC instead of inputs? Does the current app with with the data ingested from the HEC?

0 Karma

dsilva
Explorer

Hi @fofloinn,

Just add two data inputs. One for job_event and one for activity_stream. Similar to this

ttrolf
Explorer

Seems like the link above https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BwQo5E6M4FJsRjVNSGVPYjdEU3c is not working. Could you reply again ? I am setting up this and had some issues.
I did look here https://github.com/ansible/ansible-tower-splunk-framework and added values into https://github.com/ansible/ansible-tower-splunk-framework/blob/master/tower_app/README/inputs.conf.s.... Seems to work but still would like to see your solution.

0 Karma

jackpal
Path Finder

I understand the need for inputs but how do you interface to them ? Are these just files on the Ansible machine or are they feeds from the Ansible database ? There does not seem to be much documentation on this module and I think its needed.

0 Karma

dsilva
Explorer

Honestly, as of today the need for inputs no longer exists. As of Tower 3.1 a user can configure settings to point to a Splunk server. The app will be updated to reflect that.

0 Karma

skelly99
Explorer

Hi @dsilva - I'm working on a customer site who are keen to get Tower data into Splunk to help search and report on the tower event and activity data.