All Apps and Add-ons

How do you use add-ons in Splunk Cloud?

mrdavis
Engager

I'm new to splunk but I have used other SIEM but they have all been on-prem so I could actually manage the product from start to finish. I opened a ticket to have the add-on installed and that was finished this morning, but I have no idea what to do now. I did some googling and searching here but a lot of the material I found doesn't look like what I'm seeing so I wanted to see if anyone here had similar issues or knows of any documentation I can read through that is you found helpful. There is also the chance that I am misunderstanding what an add-on does.

For reference I had these three add-ons installed:
Splunk Common Information Model
Splunk Add-on for Cisco ASA
Splunk Add-on for Microsoft Active Directory
Splunk Add-on for Microsoft Windows

Thanks!

0 Karma

ChrisG
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi, I'm going to throw some docs at you. Add-ons provide inputs for specific technologies. They also provide field extractions, event types, and lookups to map to the Common Information Model.

See the general Splunk Add-ons manual for information about what add-ons are, how they relate to the Common Information Model, how to install them, and more. You might need to install them on your forwarders. See Install an add-on in Splunk Cloud for more information about this.

Each of the add-ons you mention has its own specific documentation that describes how to configure and use the software:

Hope this is useful.

mrdavis
Engager