All Apps and Add-ons

Google Apps for Splunk: Why am I always seeing "Waiting for data..." in Splunk Enterprise 6.4?

jselvi
Explorer

I'm trying to run Google Apps for Splunk (https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/2714/ ) in my new Splunk Enterprise 6.4 on AWS (I'm evaluating the product), but it doesn't seem to get the information as expected. I have followed all the steps in the documentation, but it always says "Waiting for data". The app's page says that it's for Splunk 6.2, so I don't know if I'm wasting my time trying to run it on 6.4 or not. I'm pretty new with Splunk, so probably I'm doing something wrong, but at least I would like to verify that it should work.

0 Karma
1 Solution

alacercogitatus
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi! Developer here. A few things:

1. Yes, 6.4 should work. I just haven't updated the splunkbase page yet.
  2. Make sure BOTH APIs are enabled ( I think documentation only has 1 listed - gotta update that - bad developer, bad) a. Admin SDK b. Apps Activity API
  3. Follow the OAuth authorization instructions. Make sure a credential was written to the local folder of the App.
  4. You found me on Slack. Good Job! Go You! Welcome to the Splunk Community!
  5. Also you are on IRC! Yay!
  6. Contact me via Email/Slack/IRC with any questions, comments, rants, reviews, or weather conditions.
  7. Did you check _internal logs? There are a few for this App. ( Methings ga.py is one of them, but look at the sources in _internal to make sure).
  8. Profit?

As always, upvote often, accept regularly, and always define your crane.

View solution in original post

alacercogitatus
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi! Developer here. A few things:

1. Yes, 6.4 should work. I just haven't updated the splunkbase page yet.
  2. Make sure BOTH APIs are enabled ( I think documentation only has 1 listed - gotta update that - bad developer, bad) a. Admin SDK b. Apps Activity API