All Apps and Add-ons

Configuring Universal Forwarder to Splunk Enterprise

jackjack
Path Finder

Hi all,

I'm new to splunk so I hope I'm just missing a step or something. I've searched for a while and still am not sure what I'm doing wrong.

I have splunk enterprise running on one server. I have configured it to receive data via port 9997 through the "Forwarding and Receiving" settings page.

I have installed a Universal Forwarder on another server. I added a forward-server (side note: Can you pass in the group name via CLI or is it only editable in the outputs.conf file? I can't find the full options list) and verified it in the /etc/system/local/outputs.conf file. It is using the defaultGroup = default-autolb-group. I then added a monitor on /var/log. The commands:

./splunk add forward-server <host name or ip address>:<listening port>
./splunk add monitor /var/log
./splunk restart

This is where I'm confused. I created an indexer on the Enterprise named 'default-autolb-group' to capture the data but it does not populate this indexer. However, if I go to Apps > Search & Reporting, and filter by index=_internal, I see some info from the server where my universal forwarder is installed. The latest message was after a restart and is listing the cores, RAM, etc.

So data is coming through from the server but it's not going where I expect. What am I missing?

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

It seems you've confused "index" and "indexer".  An indexer is a Splunk instance (a process on a server).  One sends data to an indexer by specifying it in outputs.conf.  Forwarders can automatically distribute data across a set of indexers, if you wish.  This set is called an "autolb group".  If you have a single indexer then you don't need to concern yourself with groups.