All Apps and Add-ons

Cisco ASA Add-On

jlsimmons

I really need some help setting up an ASA to run with Splunk. This is what I have done so far:

Installed Splunk and setup to receive syslog files from an ASA. - Successful

Installed the new APP "Splunk for Cisco ASA"

Installed Sideview Utils

Installed Google Maps

When I go and open up the Cisco dashboard the "Reporting Firewalls" never have any information in the fields.
I click on Inspect and see that it fails to find: search index=firewall sourcetype=cisco_asa

I have read many tutorials and can not find a definitive answer to my problems and now I am resorting to this post. Please forgive my ignorance if this is a really simple fix, but I am really really new to Splunk and just trying to learn a new skill.

Thanks in Advance,
Jim

0 Karma

kvangave

where are this app specific docs hosted

0 Karma

kenth
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Version 1.0 and with the TA the sourcetype is cisco:asa not cisco_asa

Everything you need to get it running is in the docs and if it doesn work you most likely did something wrong. If you are unsure about how stuff works I recommend you read up on docs.splunk.com about how inputs,props and transforms.conf works!

nelkhour

I am having the same issue. Here is a copy of my inputs.conf on the server.

[monitor:///splunkapp/centrallog/hostasa]
index = sfsq-uiso
sourcetype = cisco_asa

But nothing is showing up in the Splunk Cisco ASA

Your help is very much appreciated.

Thank you
Nadim

0 Karma

kenth
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hey Jim,

I am guessing that you haven't pointed your incoming logs to go to the 'firewall' index. Either that or you forcing your sourcetype is being done incorrectly.

Can you please show me your inputs.conf, props.conf and transforms.conf

If you are just recieving ASA syslog on port udp514 and firewall data ONLY you could easily do it like this;

[udp://514]
index=firewall
sourcetype=cisco_asa